python-bugzilla – give me your queries!

I’ve been working on a branch of python-bugzilla that supports multiple different Bugzilla variants. The current version (0.3) only supports the functions provided by Red Hat’s Bugzilla 2.18.x. This branch (which will become python-bugzilla 0.4) adds support for the upstream 3.0 and 3.2 WebServices and Red Hat’s shiny new 3.2 instance. (Hooray!)

Yes, I’m sure you’ve noticed that we’ve updated to Bugzilla 3.2. Besides the shiny new web frontend there’s also new and shiny XMLRPC code for python-bugzilla to use. It still supports the old RHBugzilla stuff, and it now supports all the upstream Bugzilla 3.2 services, but there are some additional new-style methods that will someday make their way to upstream Bugzilla – although probably not until 4.0.

The point is this – I’m trying to get python-bugzilla using the new methods wherever possible. This includes a new and slightly different Bug.search() call, and I want to make sure I can make the switch without breaking everyone’s existing code.

So here’s my request. If you use python-bugzilla, send me your queries – or just a link to the code, if that’s too much to ask – and I will do my best to make sure that your code will work, unchanged, with the new upstream(ish) Bugzilla methods.

I’ll update soon to talk about what else is new in python-bugzilla 0.4, but having some real-world test code to work with would be a great boon. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

