OMG PPC!

I didn’t mean for it to happen this way, but I spent pretty much the entire day testing FC6t2 on PPC. Part of the reason I spent so much time on it is my test machine – a G4 PowerMac with 320MB RAM, running at a scorching 400MHz. Yee-haw!

Honestly though, it’s good that I finally have some Apple hardware to test on. Many, many thanks are due to the talented (and generous!) Mr. Bill Notting, who let me steal the machine right off of his desk.

I immediately discovered a couple of nasty bugs: #201414 and #201600. And that’s what I spent today trying to fix.

#201414 is an SELinux problem with yaboot that keeps you from being able to add new entries to your bootloader. Not only does this break kernel updates, but it also broke the kickstart-based install tester (KATE) I was using. Yuck.

I did a bunch of digging and, with assistance from SELinux wizard I found a cheap hack one-line patch that fixes part of the problem. The rest was fixed by a small change to the SELinux targeted policy, which Dan has already put into rawhide. How’s that for quick work?

The other one (#201600) isn’t actually ppc-specific, but it only manifests on my poor little Sawtooth. Remember my earlier post about how cool the new xorg is? Here’s the downside: big changes to the config files inevitably mean there’ll be a few bugs to shake out in the configuration tools. And this one is kinda nasty – if xorg fails to magically set up your monitor correctly, you can’t use system-config-display to fix it. So you’re stuck with a crappy resolution or no Xat all. Ugh!

The solution turned out to be pretty simple – s-c-d was expecting the hardware probing routines to give it a range (like “30.0-89.0”), but for the special case where the range is actually just one value (“60.0-60.0”), it was just getting that value (“60.0”). Without that dash in the middle, s-c-d didn’t think it was a range, and so it failed. Oops. A quick patch to catch this problem and handle it (by treating “60.0” as “60.0-60.0”) and we’re back in business.

And at last I emerge victorious! Hooray for the mighty QA guy! The cheerleaders come out for smooches!

So there you go – spend a day bughunting and a couple nasty bugs get squashed. That’s really all we need to keep doing – a lot of installations, a lot of tracking down bugs. But we need all the help we can get.

I’m guessing that most Fedora-ppc users are running on old Apple hardware – is that true? If it is, we should get more ppc Macs running Fedora and make sure this all works like it should.

Leave a Reply

